Home / Groups affirm boycott of discriminatory Missing Women Commission

Groups affirm boycott of discriminatory Missing Women Commission

Fifteen organizations issued letters directed to Commissioner Wally Oppal confirming that they will not be participating in the “second phase” of the Missing Women Commission of Inquiry, citing concerns about discrimination and the conduct of the Commission to date.

The letters are written in response to an invitation letter sent by Commissioner Wally Oppal, asking organizations to return to the Inquiry.

Click here to read the letter from the Native Women’s Association of Canada >>

Click here to read the letter from an informal coalition of advocacy and service providing groups >>

For more information, please contact:

  • Aboriginal Front Door Society, Mona Woodward, Executive Director, (604) 697-5662
  • Amnesty International Canada, Craig Benjamin, (613) 744 -7667 ext 235
  • Atira Women’s Resource Society, Janice Abbott, Executive Director, (604) 331-1420
  • B.C. Civil Liberties Association, David Eby, Executive Director, (778) 865-7997
  • Battered Women’s Support Services, Angela Marie MacDougall, Executive Director, (604) 808-0507
  • Downtown Eastside Sex Workers United Against Violence Society, Katrina Pacey, (604) 729-7849
  • Ending Violence Association British Columbia, Tracy Porteous, Executive Director, (604) 633-2506, x11
  • February 14th Women’s Memorial March Committee, Lisa Yellow-Quill, [email protected]
  • First Nations Summit, Colin Braker, Communications Director, (604) 926-9903
  • Native Women’s Association of Canada, Claudette Dumont-Smith, Exec. Director, (613) 722-3033 x223
  • PACE: Providing Alternatives Counselling & Education Society, Karen Mirsky, (778) 838-2972
  • Pivot Legal Society, Doug King, Lawyer, (778) 898-6349
  • Union of B.C. Indian Chiefs, Grand Chief Stewart Phillip, (250) 490-5314
  • Union Gospel Mission, Genesa Greening, Director, Community Strategies, (604) 506-0845
  • West Coast LEAF, Executive Director, Kasari Govinder, (604) 684-8772, x212
  • WISH Drop-in Centre Society, Kate Gibson, Executive Director, (604)669-9474