Home / Organizations ask Premier to intervene in Missing Women’s Commission

Organizations ask Premier to intervene in Missing Women’s Commission

20 of the 21 non-government parties granted standing in the Missing Women Inquiry, along with the families of 17 of the missing and murdered women, have written to ask the Premier to intervene to save the Missing Women’s Commission of Inquiry. The parties have all signed a letter that describes the Inquiry as being in “serious jeopardy.”

Click here to read the letter >>

The signatories to the request to the Premier are:

The Family of Dianne Rock

The Family of Georgina Papin

The Family of Marnie Frey

The Family of Cynthia Dawn Feliks

The Family of Cara Ellis

The Family of Mona Wilson

The Family of Helen May Hallmark

The Family of Dawn Crey

The Family of Angela Hazel Williams

The Family of Jacqueline Murdock

The Family of Brenda Wolfe

The Family of Andrea Joesbury

The Family of Elsie Sebastian

The Family of Heather Bottomley

The Family of Andrea Borhaven

The Family of Tiffany Drew

The Family of Angela Jardine

The Assembly of First Nations

The Amnesty International Canada

The B.C. Civil Liberties Association

The Carrier Sekani Tribal Council

Don Larsen (of Crab Water for Life Society)

The Downtown Eastside Women’s Centre

The Ending Violence Association of B.C. (EVA BC)

February 14th Women’s Memorial March Ctee

First Nations Summit

The Frank Paul Society

The Native Courtworkers and Counselling Association The Native Women’s Association of Canada

The Providing Alternatives Counselling & Education Society (PACE)

The Sex Workers United Against Violence Society (SWUAV)

The Union of B.C. Indian Chiefs

The Vancouver Area Network of Drug Users (VANDU)

The WISH Drop In Centre Society (WISH)

West Coast Women’s Legal Education Fund

The Women’s Equality and Security Coalition



Family members of murdered women, Cameron Ward, (604) 688-6881

Amnesty International Canada, Beth Berton-Hunter, (416) 363 9933 ext. 32

B.C. Civil Liberties Association, Robert Holmes, (604) 838-6856

Carrier Sekani Tribal Council: Vice Tribal Chief Terry Teegee (250) 562-6279; (250) 640-3256

Downtown Eastside Women’s Centre: Harsha Walia, Coordinator (778) 885 0040

Ending Violence Association, Tracy Porteous, (604) 633-2506 ext. 11

February 14 WMM Committee, Cori Kelly, (778) 859-4379

First Nations Summit, Colin Braker, Communications Coordinator, (604) 926-9903

Frank Paul Society: David Dennis, Executive Director (604) 251 4171

Native Women’s Association of Canada: Claudette Dumont-Smith, Executive Director (613) 722-3033

Union of B.C. Indian Chiefs: Grand Chief Stewart Phillip (250) 490-5314

West Coast LEAF: Kasari Govender, Executive Director (604) 339-0202

VANDU: Ann Livingston (604) 719-5313

WISH Drop in Centre, Kate Gibson, Executive Director (604)720-5517

Women’s Equality and Security Coalition: Shelagh Day (604) 872-0750